The Museum of Avant-garde


Founded in 1924 by André Breton as a way of liberating the mind against the constraints of logic and rationalisation, Surrealism spread around Europe and America. The term was first created by Apollinaire in 1917 to describe Parade, a single act opera written by Jean Cocteau, with music by Satie and stage design and costumes by Picasso. The movement evolved, diversified, acquired further meaning and relevance for over 40 years. Tapping into the unconscious, Surrealism encompassed all artistic expressions, from poetry to painting to cinema to music, valuing spontaneity, intuition and emotions, often recurring to a dreamlike dimension, where absurdity and rejection of the status quo were key motivations for the artistic exploration. The group published Littérature curated by Breton, Soupault and Aragon and in 1930 a second Manifest du Surrealism was published, to redefine and clarify the intents of the movements. The rise of Nazism acted as a catalyst for the movement to venture new routes outside Europe. Some of the Surrealist principles and its approach to art itself were instrumental to the development of Abstract Expressionism.


Guillaume Apollinaire
Jean Arp
Denise Bellon
Victor Brauner
André Breton
Giorgio de Chirico
Jean Cocteau
Salvador Dalí
Óscar Domínguez
Marcel Duchamp
Max Ernst
Alberto Giacometti
Georges Hugnet
André Kertész
Paul Klee
René Magritte
Émile Malespine
Anita Malfatti
Man Ray (Emmanuel Radnitzky)
André Masson
Joan Miró
Vitezslav Nezval
Paul Nougé
Pablo Picasso
Stéphane Roll
Zdeněk Rykr
Philippe Soupault
Maurice Tabard
Yves Tanguy
Tristan Tzara
Raoul Ubac
Edward Wadsworth
Paul Éluard
Jindřich Štyrský